Bridal Showers

2 May

My Bridal Shower is on my mind after this weekend.  Friday night was “favor” night for the bridesmaids of Future Mrs. Conroy 🙂  The 5 of us spent the evening putting together favors for our good friend Jane.  I have some funny pics, but I don’t want to give anything away, the shower is on Saturday and I’m really excited!

The rest of the weekend I was running errands and picking up supplies for the shower.  Don’t you hate it when you can never get everything you need at one place?  Or, when you think you get something cheaper somewhere else, only to find out you were wrong 😦  I think I went to Micheal’s 4 times this weekend!!

After all the running around we pretty much have everything we need.  I’ll be making one more trip later this week for some food supplies and Friday night we’ll be making the dessert!  I’ll be sure to recap with lots of pics 🙂

I can’t wait for my Bridal Shower!  I’ve asked to be left in the dark about everything because I love surprises:)  The only thing I’m involved in is the guest list.

My MOH is super crafty and even though she will be traveling from Florida, I have a feeling she has a few tricks up her sleeves to really make my shower special.  Of course, my other Bridesmaids are just as amazing and I have no doubt the group effort between the 4 of them and my mom will make the event unforgettable.

I’ve had the pleasure of planning one of my best friends Bridal Showers last year.  It was so much fun, but there were times that it was stressful!  I think it’s important to make sure you have a leader who can organize the group and finalize decisions.  For my bf Katie, she decided not to choose a Maid of Honor, so being the semi control freak 😉 I can sometimes be, I decided to take the lead!

I learned a lot from the experience and I think if I had any take away’s they would be…

  • Make sure you ask your bride how much she wants to be involved
  • Work with both the mother of the bride and the groom to see how big of a shower they want or if they plan to do more than one shower.  It’s also important you include them in the decision making, this is a big deal for them too!  (especially the MOB)
  • When choosing a location make sure you have enough space for everyone, sometimes it’s better to put down a little money for a location that will fit everyone instead of squeezing people into a house where it can be hard for everyone to eat and see the bride open her gifts
  • It can make things fun and easy if you come up with a theme!  There are so many ideas available to you thanks to the world wide web 🙂
  • Plan accordingly and send reminders to everyone that is chipping in.  People have other things going on, if you decide to to take the lead its up to you to keep everyone on track

Most importantly, try to have fun with it!!  Things will probably go wrong along the way, so you just have to remember who you are putting all of the hard work in for and that one day it will be your turn, and you will want your friends to do the same for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

