DIY Programs

24 May

Last night Trevor and I started working on our programs for the ceremony.  I’m trying to knock off as many projects as I can since this summer is going to be crazy!  My inspiration for our programs came from here.

You can see step by step instructions as well as the supplies used.  Below are some tips for finding the supplies and some replacements I used.

Supplies:

  • A7 Folded Cardstock (she suggests A2 but I thought that was way too small!)- I purchased mine from Paper Source
  • Jumbo Popscile Sticks- Paper Source
  • Colored Ribbon- We went with yellow & gray and found the styles we wanted at JoAnn Fabrics & Micheal’s
  • Golf Pencils- Predrilled if you can find them, but I couldn’t, so I bought mine at Staples and turned to my handy fiance for the drilling 🙂
  • Needle with large eye- We just used a bobby pin:)
  • Scissors
  • Double stick tape
  • Corner rounder punch
  • Printer

I created our Word Search & Mad Lib a few months ago, this was really easy to do in Microsoft Word.  I don’t want to give everything away to my guest so here is just a sneak peak 🙂

Some of the words for the Word Search include…

Melissa            

Trevor         

Baltimore       

Wedding           

And some of our Mad Lib puzzles…

__ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

Where Trevor proposed

 __ __ __ __ __ __ __

Melissa’s new last name

 __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

Trevor & Melissa’s high school mascot

It was really fun trying to come up with puzzles to stump our guests.  Hopefully everyone has fun with it!  Last night we worked on drilling holes into the popsicle sticks (Trevor worked on the pencils a few weeks ago), cutting the ribbon and attaching to both the sticks and the pencils.

He makes everything look so easy 🙂 Once we had the holes we were ready to string through the ribbon!

We got about 35 done, so only 65 more to go!  Of course, this is only one part of project 🙂  But it felt good to get it started!

3 Responses to “DIY Programs”

  1. Eurydice Tampol July 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Any chance your fiance remembers the size of drill bit he used for the pencils & popsicle sticks? I’m having a hard time finding the pre-drilled pencils too and am going to do what you did and enlist my fiance’s help. Thanks so much.

    P.S. Great wedding date! we’ve got the same one!

    • acharmingtale July 27, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      He used a 3 / 32nd – I have NO IDEA what that means, haha, but that’s what fiance’s are for right? Congratulations on your wedding! 45 Days to go…Happy planning!

  2. Eurydice Tampol September 21, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Congratulations on your wedding. I hope the programs were as much of a hit at your wedding as they were at mine. Thanks again for the drill bit info.

Leave a Reply

