Beach Weekend!

13 Jun

The work day on Friday felt forever long, probably because I was so excited to get out of there and on the road to the beach!  Trevor coaches a boys travel lacrosse team and they ended the season with a tournament in Ocean City, MD.  We were lucky enough to get a free hotel for the weekend so he could be there to coach and I could spend a little time in the sand 🙂

We were able to scoot out of work a little early on Friday and hit the road, we still managed to get stuck in traffic but it wasn’t too bad.  We made a little pit stop at the outlets which turned out to be pretty successful.  I picked up some new work out gear and Trevor got a few shirts on sale at J. Crew.

After our shopping break we were back on the road and made it to the beach around 9pm.  We checked into our room, mixed up a few cocktails and stood out on the balcony to take in the bay breeze and awesome view!

The hotel was right next to Fager’s Island, which is a restaurant during the day and a beach bar at night.  After a couple cocktails we decided to go over for just a drink or two…Which really turned into several drinks and lots of dancing!  We had a lot of fun 🙂

Trevor had 2 games to coach the next day so after a quick run on was on the beach reading The Mockingjay, the last book in the Hunger Games series.  I seriously LOVE these books!  Can’t wait for the movie to come out next year!

The beach was gorgeous and the annual air show was also going on so I was able to get some free entertainment as well.  Check out this B 52 stealth bomber!  It was super cool to see in person.

FYI – in no way am I knowledgeable in military planes, I over heard another guy yell out the name of the plane and looked it up to make sure he was right 🙂

Later that day Trevor was able to meet me on the beach for an short break before his 2nd game.  A storm ended up rolling through so everything was post-poned and I hung out in our room and got ready for the evening.  Since we ended up going a little more hardcore than expected the night before we decided to keep Saturday night more low key.

We had some yummy beach bar food on the boardwalk then walked up and down the beach taking in the “sites” – aka people watching (if you have ever been to OC, MD you know what I mean!) and perusing a few shops to try and find some photo booth props.  Everything we found was little more then we wanted to spend, but I am regretting not bringing home this awesome necklace 🙂

Of course we couldn’t leave the boardwalk without a cone from Kohr Brothers, only the best!  I got my usual vanilla/chocolate twist with rainbow sprinkles and it was delicious!

Over all it was a great weekend.  I love the beach and can’t wait for our trip down to OBX in July, where we’ll have a whole week to just relax in the sand.

Up this week, summer field hockey league starts on Wednesday and we have our first pre-marital class with our priest on Thursday.  Most importantly…only 89 days until the big day!!  Time to re-visit my “Wedding To Do” list again!

2 Responses to “Beach Weekend!”

  1. Gerda Benitez June 14, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a comment