Wedding Magazine Cleanse

15 Jun

After Trevor proposed last April I immediately started buying up Wedding Magazines.  As a girl who loves weddings in general, I already had a few stashed at home, but I definitely remember heading out to the grocery store at the beach the very next day and picking up Martha Stewart Weddings Spring 2010 issue 🙂

Since then my collection has only grown.  So this week I decided I need to go through my stacks of magazines and decide which ones I want to keep for future reference (For other friends/family members that will be married, and just for fun party/craft ideas, not because I plan on having another wedding 🙂 ), which ones I need to have readily available for any last minute ideas or questions I have, and finally which ones need to hit the recycling bin!

I’ve made it about 3/4 of the way through and I have to say that if I could recommend any magazines worth spending money on I would stick with Martha Stewart Weddings and Real Simple Weddings.

This is purely my opinion, but I definitely think they give you the most bang for your buck.  Martha Stewart gives you a TON of DIY ideas and has a lot of helpful Q&A sections.  The magazine also has so many great pictures, and to me pictures are everything 🙂

Real Simple offers a slew of checklists and even a mini checklist booklet you can pull out of the magazine for easy travel.  They also provide answers to important questions, and give you a few different scenario’s to help you through an issue you might be facing.  I also love that they feature a few different weddings of different styles in each issue with lots of great pictures (again with the pictures!).

Real Simple Weddings does come with a hefty price tag (about $15,  yikes!), BUT they include a postcard on the inside to mail out for a free year of the regular Real Simple magazine.  You can’ t beat that!

What else is great about these two magazines is that they are not completely taken over by Advertisements.  Don’t get me wrong, I am in the Advertising business and I understand it’s just a part of our world, but some Bridal magazine just take it way too far and make it hard to enjoy the actual content of the magazine.

So that’s just my take!  Now my only issue will be getting myself to stop buying wedding magazines after my wedding…I wouldn’t bet on it 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

