Practice Makes Perfect

28 Jun

I didn’t realize how important getting a hair and make-up trial was until this past weekend.  I really just wanted to get a trial because getting your hair and make-up done by a professional is just fun!

But after my disappointing appointment on Saturday, I was so grateful that I planned a trial.  I want to be clear that the stylists who did my hair and make-up really did a great job and I looked beautiful, but I didn’t look the way I pictured myself to look on my wedding day.

The last thing you want to worry about the morning before your wedding is how your hair and make-up is going to turn out.   A lot of brides hire professionals to handle this stress for them, other brides find is less stressful to just do it on their own.  Whatever you decide to you, all I can suggest is that you practice!

If you’re doing it on your own, purchase a few different products and have your own trial at home.  If you want the professionals to handle everything, make sure you set up an appointment for a test run.

Don’t forget to bring lots of pictures, your veil and/or head piece if you have one, pictures of your dress and even your earrings if you have those too!  Everything helps to give your stylists a good idea of the kind of look you want.

Here are a couple looks I brought with me…

Hair

Make-up

 

The make-up artist I saw on Saturday didn’t have all of her products with her so she wasn’t able to really show me everything or give me the look I was going for.  She said she would have more available on the day of my wedding, but I wanted to test everything out before hand so I wouldn’t have to think about it the day of.  So that was a bit of a bust.

My hair was beautifully done, but the front was just not voluminous enough and didn’t really have the texture I wanted.  Maybe it was the way I communicated what I wanted or maybe my pictures just didn’t show what I was thinking well enough, but the end result just wasn’t what I was looking for….

So!  My sister made a call to her friend Meghan who has done her hair for her High School dances, she was able to fit me in last night for a trial and I absolutely LOVE what she did!  She really listened to my ideas and understood the look I was going for.  She was fantastic and I’m so excited she is doing my hair on my wedding day.

Meghan was also able to suggest someone else that I could try for make-up so I have a trial set up in a couple weeks.  Crossing my fingers it goes well!

It really just goes to show that practice is a good thing, and it’s better to know exactly what your getting before the big day 🙂

One Response to “Practice Makes Perfect”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Better After « A Charming Tale Of Boy Meets Girl - July 28, 2011

    […] My make-up trial #2 […]

Leave a Reply

