Time to mix it up!

29 Jul

Like most Brides, I’ve been working hard to keep myself in tip-top shape before the big day.  I’m working on eating healthy foods that will keep me fueled for a good work-out.

I thought I would use a post to share some of my favorite work-out routines  in case anyone out there is looking for something to help mix it up!  Disclaimer: I’m not a professional trainer, these are simply from my own experiences and should not be taken as professional advice 🙂

I just started yoga (which I love!) and I play on a field hockey summer league team every Wednesday night, but when I’m in the gym I try to do some cardio and a full body weight work-out.  If I don’t have time, I tend to concentrate more on my arms since I’ll be in a strapless gown.

20 minute Treadmill Workout – get ready to sweat! (at least I do)  I set the treadmill to an incline of 1 or 2 –

Time            Pace

1-3                   6.5

3-5                  30 second sprint intervals

30 sec             7.0

30 sec             7.5

30 sec             8.0

30 sec              8.5

5-6                    6.5 (1 minute recovery)

Repeat 4 more times

18-20               walk at own pace

Obviously make sure you adjust the pace to your own comfort.  Your starting/recovery pace should be a pace that will allow you to recover before the next sprint interval , this is 6.5 for me but might be 5.5 or 7.0 for you!

Favorite Bicep & Tricep Routine (3 sets)

Weight          Workout/Reps

10                       21’s / 7 lower half bicep curl, 7 upper half bicep curl, 7 full bicep curl

15                       seated overhead tricep curl / 15

body                  incline push-up on weight bench / 10-15

body                  tricep dip on weight bench / 10- 15

Favorite Lower Body Routine (3 sets)

Weight              Workout/Reps

10                           lunges/10-15 each leg

15                           sumo squats (wide stance squat) / 15

130                        leg press / 15

30                          calf raises (I do these on the machine) / 15

I hope you find something to help mix up your own routine, or if you have any ideas you would like to share please comment!  When you do the same workouts over and over it gets to feel more like a chore, so I love finding new things to keep me motivated.  Which is one of the reasons I decided to start yoga (and I’m so glad I did!).

My cousin Kelly is staying with me this weekend, she happens to be a personal trainer (which I totally take advantage of!) so we are having a workout session tomorrow morning, I can’t wait to see what new moves she has to show me.  Talk about mixing it up, personal trainers come up with the craziest moves!

It’s going to be a jam packed weekend and I’m REALLY excited.  With so much going non, we’re laying low tonight.  Tomorrow, after our morning sweat session we are going to see my wedding day hair stylist so Kelly can get an idea of how she would like to wear her hair as a bridesmaid in my wedding.  Then we’re off to the mall to try and find a cute dress for my bachelorette party weekend (can’t wait!).  After the mall it’s mani/pedis and then to our friends Joe & Jane’s for game night!

Joe & Jane just got back from their honeymoon so I’m anxious to see them and hear all about it!  I’ve been asked to bring something sweet 🙂  So I’m thinking of whipping up my favorite dessert from Gina’s Skinny Recipes, Pineapple Bliss Cupcakes, YUM!  These are sooooo delicious and so easy to make, definitely my go-to!

Sunday is my Bridal Shower!!!  I’m so excited!  I know my bridesmaids, mom and aunt have been working really hard to put this together so I can’t wait to see how it all turns out.  I’m just so excited to spend some time with all my bridesmaids, friends and family  in one room.  I love how weddings bring everyone together 🙂

On Monday we have our final walk through at our reception venue with the coordinator there and our caterer.  I decided to take off work since they can only do this during normal work hours and it take about 2 hours.  Plus, I won’t feel so bad about that extra glass of sangria I have at my shower knowing I won’t have to get up early 🙂

I’ll have so much to recap on next week…Enjoy the weekend!!

 

Leave a Reply

